In Florida, a DUI is proved when normal faculties are impaired, or when one's blood or breath alcohol levels are .08 or higher. When it comes to conviction, the conviction for penalties is the same regardless of the nature in which the felony is proven.
For instance, for instance, if your alcohol level is .15 or higher during the arrest, you will have to pay a fine of, $1000 up to $2,000. If you're facing a second DUI conviction, the fine goes up to between $2,000 and $4,000. While a third conviction attracts a fine of no less than $4000.
If you have a good DUI Attorney Zephyrhills and a favorable case, you might get away with 50 hours of community service and a $10 fine for every hour of community service to be served.
Some get probation and incarceration for a period not exceeding one year.
There are situations where imprisonment is inevitable. The prison sentence is made at the discretion of the court. If it's your first conviction and your alcohol level was .15 or higher, you could get six to nine months imprisonment. For second conviction with a .15 alcohol level, you can get between 9 and 12 months in prison. While a third conviction can see you spend up to 10 years in prison. This is why you need a good DUI Attorney Zephyrhills who can plead your case and help you get the best deal possible given the circumstances.
If you cause an accident involving damage to property or personal injury to another individual while driving under the influence, you could be subjected to up to $1,000 in fine or a one-year imprisonment.
If you get convicted a third time within a ten-year period or a fourth time, then you could be subjected to paying over $5,000 dollars in fines and/or imprisonment for five years. If as a result of DUI you cause bodily harm to someone else, you could also incur a fine of up to $5,000 and/or 5 years in prison.
However, in cases where the DUI leads to the death of the victim, you could be charged with a second-degree felony, and be subjected to paying a fine of up to $10,000 with 15 years in prison. If you leave the scene of the accident after causing a death when driving under the influence, you will likely be found guilty of a first-degree felony and be subjected to a $10,000 fine and or 30 years in prison.
When it comes to laws that govern DUI charges in Florida, this is just a tip of the iceberg. There is so much more that we possibly cannot capture in one article. It important that you take DUI charges very seriously and find a competent DUI Attorney to handle the case for you.
Butash & Donavan has a great team of experienced DUI Attorney Zephyrhills, with a wealth of experience in representing clients facing DUI charges. With Butash and Donavan you'll get the best representation at the best price.
*Disclaimer: The views expressed here are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of Butash Law Group*
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment